I once learned one of the profoundest truth from a burly weather-beaten, muscle-bound motorcycle instructor. He taught me to never depend upon the rearview mirrors of a vehicle when changing lanes, since mirrors offer only a limited view of a much larger reality. This lesson sunk deep after my first car accident and in more ways than one.

Sometimes I look to others as an ideal model, only to discover they have their faults and drop the ball once in a while. I find the closer they come to my ideal, the harsher become my expectations. I forget they (like myself) are only rearview mirrors — they too are only limited representations or reflections of a greater light. Yeah, I forget the part about grace…

~ vincenzo
________________________________________________________
“The best argument for Christianity is Christians; their joy, their certainty, their completeness. But the strongest argument against Christianity, is also Christians – when they are somber and joyless, when they are self-righteous and smug in complacent consecration, when they are narrow and repressive, then Christianity dies a thousand deaths.” ~ Eugene Peterson

