Although the Adventures of Superman were purely fictional, they taught me momentous truths while growing up. From the imaginary perspective of my inner child, it resembled the alternating drama of daily life where battles were won and others dismally lost – the dappled contrast between the commonplace versus the extraordinary.

I consciously lived under the reproach of those around me. I lived below my potential. I conformed to someone else’s concept of life. Some refer to this as the “social mirror”.

“Why can’t you keep things in order?”
“Why can’t you confront people like a man?”
“I can’t believe you won.”
“It’s so simple. Why can’t you understand?”
“Boy, you eat like a horse.”
“Why are you so serious?”

This down side of life was part of the magic. It made it easy to relate to the pathetic Clark Kent (portrayed by actor George Reeves). His heavy dark rimmed glasses gave him a nerdy air. Being thus self-conscious, unassuming and socially awkward – even the alluring elfine Lois Lane had ignored him.

It was consoling to imagine that from the ruins of this sorrowful introverted personage, emanated a superman – who at any moment, could transform himself into an invincible hero endowed with divine attributes. Was this a foretaste of what heaven has always promised; an existence free from tears, pain, earthly limitations and death?

I don’t know what the script writers of Superman may have intended to convey as far as moral lessons other than the ones I have sketched out, but here are some maxims I’ve noted down as foot notes to this contemplation:

“All humanity is a mixed package of unique strengths and personal defects.”

“Superman is a reality to common people with imaginative hearts.”

“People who only value outward appearances miss out on the best part of life.”

Feel free, dear reader to add any others that may come to mind.

~ vincenzo

