Sometimes I involuntarily enter a state when childhood memories flash mutely onto the screen of my mind. I’m referring to the daydream variety. They usually pertain to common childhood scenes (sometimes even dreary), yet immersed in euphoric/sublime feelings. Sometimes I seek in vain to decipher the subtext of these powerful yet elusive flashes. Why they exist. How I can tap into their mystery.

This imaginative/ blissful realm is intimately connected to my artistic expression, because it ultimately involves the cultivation of self understanding.  As Casper David Friedrich says, “The painter should paint not only what he has in front of him, but also what he sees inside himself. If he sees nothing within, then he should stop painting what is in front of him.”

My favorite medium is mural painting where I combine the muted beauty of photo realism with the decorative boldness of zentangle.  My writing and my faith are also intimately connected to my artistic expression, but I will leave this topic for another time.*

~ vincenzo ©

This post has been revised. What I uploaded was taken from part of an email I wrote July 18, 2014 to a new cyber-friend in Panama.

