My aspiration is to approach soul connections from a position of healing and strength, rather than emotional dependency emanating from the wounded self. Some refer to it as self possession. What I’m learning is to build friendships not through coaxing, manipulation or subtle coercion, but sensitivity, calmness and listening.

I come from an emotionally void childhood and therefore susceptible to making excuses for others. I will move mountains in order to hold on to someone even when there may be no foundation, but something conjured up.

Perhaps building friendships is more about being still, than following the impulses of the erratic heart. It’s easy for me to find excuses to delay my stay in the name of helping the object of my attention rather than accepting the reality that this or that person may not be the match I imagined.

~ vincenzo ©

